Have you tried restarting the network, sir?

For most people who have fast (broadband) connexions to the Internet, and have called their ISP’s tech support, that line is quite ubiquitous. However, I have to report that doing it actually solved something for me!

The scene: my apartment. I had been having very slow speed problems with both my PC and tablet. I knew it wasn’t the WiFi since the PC is cabled to the router. Restarting the router didn’t work so I checked out the cable modem. Its diagnostic page indicated it had been going steady for about 44 days.

Some of you may remember that Windows 98 wouldn’t run for more than 49.7 days without locking up/becoming unresponsive. This has nothing to do with that I’m pretty sure, but the similarly of numbers reminded me of those bad old days.

Anyway, I recycled the modem, then the router. Things appear to be going normally now. This makes me wonder if I should get a new modem and/or if this one is going to require recycling every month and a half.

Leave a Reply

