I, civil servant

I neglected to blog about it, but about two days ago I received my official State instrument of identity. It is much less involved than a driver’s license, all it contains is my name, photograph, signature (both stolen from the DMV) and the name of the agency I work for. It doesn’t even have a number on it.

I was going to say that this makes me officially a member of the State service now, since there is nothing left, but I learned yesterday, that I haven’t gotten the huge packet of forms that I have to fill out for things like union membership (this state has public sector unions) and insurance.

To my amusement, I’ve been getting paid, but have not filled out I-9. While I am a citizen, the State has no way of knowing that absent that form, so I think that they might be on the edge of the (federal) employment law.

Leave a Reply

