Interviewing at the Civil Service 3×

As mentioned in my post Interviewing for the CS, I had some interviews to participate in Thursday and Friday of last week. Without spilling any confidencial beans I will summarize the high points:

Interview #1

The first interview was with the state’s general construction office. The generic “physical plant” of the state if you will. Getting there was an adventure and a half. I took a long long trip on a winding state route to within maybe 25 miles of the place, and then promptly got lost because the villainous county government refuses to put up road signs at intersections, or anywhere else for that matter.

Finally I got to the right place and found out that it was… a prison! I went to one building and was met by a prison guard/corrections officer who told me I was at the wrong building. I went to the other one and went to the front desk. They were completely confused as to why I was there (although they did like to see my drivers license which was a new type) but eventually found out that I wanted the STATE general office, not the prison’s. I was directed to a dippy little trailer nearby where I met my interviewers, about 20 minutes after I was supposed to be there. LAME.

The interview went well despite my lateness. I had some experience that they liked and went through the position and the usual “HR questions”.

Interview #2

After leaving the prison I took about a 2 hour drive up to the state capital where I then checked in to my hotel and went out to dinner. The diner (A Denny’s) was a nice place and I liked the food. I was in a booth right next to the path to the restrooms, so I got to see people come and go as I ate. There was a ton of ice cream.

Back at the hotel it took a while but I went to sleep finally. I woke up wayy too early, but instead of being able to sleep again, I went out and ate breakfast (free). Returning to my room I dressed for the interview at 9 AM and checked out. The hotel was literally right next to where I was interviewing; they shared a parking lot!

I went into the office building and checked in with Security. They were nice. I couple of lawyers from the Attorney General showed up for a conference and started to gossip so I walked away and started to examine a display on guardrails (It was the DOT’s office building). Eventually a few minutes later my interviewer met me and we went up to the conference room. He had those weird eyeglasses that separate in the middle.

Interview went well, they seemed to like what they heard and I was interested in the position. After that we had a little chase around to find the person from HR who had to administer a post-interview interview. Finally we met, had the meeting and then I left.

Interview #3

Now I had to take a very tiresome drive back the exact way I came to go to the third interview, which was also in the Transportation Department. The office building was obvious built in the 60s or 70s because of the look of it. Anyway I got there about an hour and a half early and got advice from the tubby security person on duty about a nearby diner. I went there (After going around the block a couple of times because of the strange traffic pattern) and ate a huge sandwich that I barely finished. Next time hold the fries, because I didn’t have room for them. There were two political partisans behind me getting angry at the news.

Returned to the office building and met with a person (Nettie I think) from HR who took my paperwork and took copies of my instruments of qualification. She had to replace a huge black toner cartridge in the copy machine but then left it for another one that already worked. The hallways were narrow and dark.

After that run around I met my three interviewers who then talked about their divisions and what they did, and what I would be doing in them. Also I had to answer some more HR questions.

Finally I left at the end of the interview and turned my visitor card in. I took the back roads through town to get homeward and went through the Jewish section. I have not seen so much Hebrew writing before. It was mostly deserted, but the writing was there.

Anyway, I eventually got back home after maybe 4 or 5 hours of driving. Highly tiresome, so I slept most of the next day (yesterday). I am hoping for a position closer to home, but if I am offered one of those, I won’t say no most likely.

Leave a Reply

