How to get rid of the Bluetooth icon from the Action Center in Windows 10

EDIT (August 5, 2016): This post is now obsolete: the “Anniversary update” or version 1607 allows you to individually enable and disable the quick actions, including Bluetooth. Worth noting: Windows now does not even allow the icon on my PC, perhaps recognizing that it is not even present.

EDIT (June 16, 2016): It’s gone again, because I installed the latest cumulative update for Windows 10. Will keep observing.

EDIT (May 8, 2016): This no longer works for me.

In Windows 10, the Action Center contains some “quick action” tiles at the bottom of its flyout panel. One of the common ones is Bluetooth, even if the PC doesn’t support it. This is evidently frustrating to many people.

I found what I think is the answer:

  1. Restart Windows

I know it’s an old joke about Windows that you restart it to get it to work, but I’ve noticed that the unwanted icon shows up whenever I’ve installed a cumulative update from Windows Update… and disappears at the first restart afterwards.

Try it and let me know of your success.

Leave a Reply

