Blogging while waiting

Right now I am (re)installing Windows 7 x64 in a virtual machine. I have a multicore (physical) machine and mistakenly installed Windows in the VM without telling VirtualBox to use all the cores. Consequently, Windows installed using the single core kernel. Changing the VM to use all the cores after install doesn’t improve this, it just makes Windows demand reactivation. Since I am using the VMs to test/use somewhat intensive software I do want all the cores to be used by Windows in the VM.

As a result, I’m stuck waiting for Windows Update to finish updating Windows so I can create a snapshot and then install the software under consideration. To pass the time, I was daydreaming, but am now blogging. I’ll see what else I can come up with to blog about for you all reading this.

It seems to be working, I started at 49% and now am at 91%. One thing I find irritating about Windows Update is how it moves in fits and starts. Unlike, say, network copying, which moves in a more smooth pattern.

Leave a Reply

