Sawcy Cock likes my toes

I have a Jersey Giant Cock, one of three cocks in my coop. For some odd reason, he likes to peck my toes when I’m in the coop. I have no idea if he thinks they are worms, or other things to eat, but he will attack them. I don’t think he sees them as being related to the rest of me.

On a related note, a relation of mine, JOHA, has some Orpingtons in his barn. The only Cock is a vicious cock, that likes to attack everyone, including his grand son, who is like 5. I don’t know why he hasn’t killed this cock yet, since he is so offencive and doesn’t get the idea, even after being kickt away from you after attacking your booties. Very offencive.

Since the chicken Yard outside is still very snowy and the ground froxen, I have to keep them entertained inside the Coop. I’ve put up an antient mirror for them to look into, and there are cups and tubs for them to use. To day I emptied a bale of wood shavings out for them to scratch through and distribute around the floor and scraped crap off the board so there would be less of an ammoniacal smell in the air. I can’t wait for spring, but it means I will have to expand the yard so they have more grass to scratch up.

Finally, I need to get photograves of these things, but it is so dingy here with the sky being overcast that I can’t really get good pix. I love my Cochin hen. She is so small but feathery and quiet and keeps in the background. Except for the easter Egg hen she is the most background keeping of all. The salmon Faverolle Cock is fairly distant too. I think he is getting two spurs on one leg.

Leave a Reply

