Going up to… ten

I bit the bullet and let Microsoft update my Windows 7 to Windows 10. So far it is OK. I don’t know that it is so much better than Windows 7 really. The upgrade process was quite smooth and the UI was gorgeous really.

One note: It tried to keep the Windows 7 theme I had, but since the taskbar is now black, this resulted in black text on a black background! I had to reset the theme to the Windows 10 default.

The biggest complaint I have so far is that you can’t see what Windows updates are being installed; you’re forced to accept them all without any control.

I am trying to get it to install on my Windows 8.1 tablett, but it is stuck at 96 percent for some reason. This might be because I let it go to sleep in the middle of the upgrade, but it appeared to recover from that without trouble.

A cautious recommendation, so far.

3 thoughts on “Going up to… ten

  1. Pingback: Stop touching me Microsoft! | FlowCoef

  2. Pingback: Fear of… what? | FlowCoef

  3. Pingback: Estate sales are creepy things | FlowCoef

Leave a Reply

