I got a rejection letter!

I applied for a position yesterday and today got a form letter rejection!

Why can’t companies do this more often, especially when they are using highly automated HR software? I despise people who, in a professional context, let others hang on when they already know they are not going to get hired. A simple “Sorry, but we have decided not to interview/hire you.” Email is enough, and lets me mark that as “No” in my spreadsheet of job applications.

I hope it is not because they don’t want to annoy us. We’re adults applying for jobs with adults; trust us and I think you’ll find 98+ % of your job seekers are emotionally mature enough to handle a professionally worded rejection letter. In most cases, we got used to getting them from colleges, so we won’t be seeing anything new if they come from firms.

3 thoughts on “I got a rejection letter!

  1. Pingback: So I’m not the only one who thinks this way! | FlowCoef

  2. Pingback: The tiresome waiting game | FlowCoef

  3. Pingback: A new HR annoyance | FlowCoef

Leave a Reply

